In evidence






Member login


October 2019 

Three MVI Institutions are partners of ENSEMBLE3 Teaming for Excellence project

The ENSEMBLE3 Teaming for Excellence project is starting on 1st of October. The goal of the ENSEMBLE3 project is to create a new Centre of excellence for nanophotonics, advanced materials and crystal growth-based technologies. This ambitious venture will be possible due to funds from the Teaming for Excellence European Commission programme H2020 and the International Research Agenda Programme of Foundation for Polish Science. Joint funding secured for Centre’s establishment is roughly 30 million EUR.

The project consortium includes leading Polish institutions – Lukasiewicz Research Network Institute of Electronic Materials Technology (ITME), the University of Warsaw (UW), and the National Centre for Research and Development, and advanced renowned partners - the Sapienza University of Rome (Italy), the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany), and the Cooperative Research Center nanoGUNE Consolider (Spain). Most of the project partners are the members of Metamorphose VI. 

During the Research and Innovation days in Brussels, on September 24th a symbolic Signature Ceremony of the ENSEMBLE3 Teaming for Excellence project took place. ENSEMBLE3 was represented by the project coordinator prof. Dorota A. Pawlak (ITME and UW), and Prof. Jose M. Pitarke – director of NanoGUNE in Spain. During Signature Ceremony prof. Dorota A. Pawlak and Mr. Jean-Eric Paquet, Director-General – Directorate “Research and Innovation” (RTD) co-signed the project (Twitter: @JEPaquetEU)

In addition, during the conference session 'Bridging, Widening, Sharing: let's Advance Europe together' dedicated to the importance of exploiting pockets of excellence wherever they emerge and the key role of all stakeholders to advancing R&I in Europe, the representatives of the Teaming projects were called on stage and greeted by Carlos Moedas,Commissioner for Research and Innovation (Twitter @Moedas)

Project webpapge: 



Source: European Commission or European R&I days


February 2019 

Prof. Zheludev elected as new Foreign Member of National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

In recognition of the leadership and technical contributions to optical metamaterials and nanophotonics, Prof. Zheludev has been elected as a Foreign Member of the United States National Academy of Engineering.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 6, 2019.

For more information, please, visit the NAE website at the link:


May 2018 

Prof. Zheludev elected as a Fellow of Royal Society


In recognition of the extensive role that he has played in advancing the field of photonics research, Prof. Zheludev has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society.

The Royal Society is the independent scientific academy of the UK and the Commonwealth, and the oldest of its kind in continuous existence. It is made up of the world’s most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists, with a purpose to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science. Becoming a Fellow remains one of the highest accolades that any scientist might aspire to.

For more information, please, visit the Royal Society website at the link:


November 2015 

Prof. Yang Hao won IET A.F. Harvey Engineering Research Prize

The QUEST team are delighted to announce that its Principle Investigator, Professor Yang Hao, has been awarded a prestigious international prize from the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Professor Hao, a world expert in antennas and electromagnetics, won £300,000 IET A.F. Harvey Engineering Research Prize. He was chosen from a field of high-calibre candidates from across the world as a result of his outstanding contributions in the fields of microwave, antennas and electromagnetics.

Professor Hao will present his lecture, titled ‘Antenna Engineering in the Era of Big Data’, at IET London: Savoy Place on 17 March 2016.


October 2015 

PhD honoris causa investiture ceremony for Prof. Tatsuo Itoh

I have pleasure in inviting you to the PhD honoris causa investiture ceremony for Dr. Tatsuo Itoh, proposed by the School of Engineering of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. The laudatio will be delivered by Prof. Ferran Martín, Director of the Department of Electronic Engineering at the UAB.

The ceremony will take place at 12 noon on Wednesday 14 October 2015, at the conference hall of the Rectorate Building.


January 2015 


The METAMOPRHOSE VI AISBL is organizing a new edition of the Newsletters. Any member of the Association can send information about research projects and results, recently published papers, available open positions, organized and forthcoming events to be published in the Newsletters. 

To send information you want to publish, please, use the following email address:   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.